Last year’s champion, Rafael Nadal, will return to defend his title and go for his record 11th French Open trophy. Nadal, currently ranked No. 2 in the world, lost the No. 1 ranking to Roger Federer back in February. Federer has since withdrawn from the clay court circuit though and won’t be playing in his third straight French Open, leaving the door open for Nadal to take the title at Roland Garros and reclaim the No. 1 ranking.

Book your tickets or a complete package https://tennistours.com/french-open/tickets with Championship Tennis Tours and see it live!

In the WTA, all eyes will be on Serena Williams as she participates in her first Grand Slam event since the 2017 Australian Open. The 23-time Grand Slam champion has understandably been shaking off rust in her most recent tournaments. She made it to the third round at Indian Wells before losing to sister Venus and was ousted in the opening round of the Miami Open.

Last year’s winner, Jelena Ostapenko, has climbed her way to No. 5 in the WTA rankings. The player she defeated, Simona Halep, will likely come in with the No. 1 ranking, and after losing the 2018 Australian Open to Caroline Wozniacki, will look to finally win her first career Grand Slam at Roland Garros.

Below is the schedule by round, the men’s and women’s draws and how to watch the French Open.

French Open schedule

The opening round of the French Open is set to begin on Sunday, May 27, at 5 a.m. ET. The tournament will take place almost daily over the next two weeks and will conclude with the championship match on Sunday, June 10. Below is the round-by-round breakdown of the schedule for both men and women.

(All times Eastern)

Date Round Time
Sunday, May 27 Round 1 7 a.m.
Monday, May 28 Round 1 7 a.m.
Tuesday, May 29 Round 1 7 a.m.
Wednesday, May 30 Round 2 7 a.m.
Thursday, May 31 Round 2 7 a.m.
Friday, June 1 Round 3 7 a.m.
Saturday, June 2 Round 3 7 a.m.
Sunday, June 3 Round 4 7 a.m.
Monday, June 4 Round 4 10 a.m.
Tuesday, June 5 Quarterfinals 10 a.m.
Wednesday, June 6 Quarterfinals 10 a.m.
Thursday, June 7 Women’s Semifinals 9 a.m.
Friday, June 8 Men’s Semifinals 11 a.m.
Saturday, June 9 Women’s Final 11 a.m.
Sunday, June 10 Men’s Final 11 a.m.

French Open draw

The official draw for both the men’s and women’s French Open will be released following the Roland Garros qualifiers. Those are set to take place the week before the tournament starts, from May 20-25. Once the draw is announced it will be updated here.

How to watch the French Open

The entire French Open can be viewed live on NBC. The network will also show replays of the action later in the day. In addition, viewers can stream the tournament on NBCSports.com and on the NBC Sports app.

 

Like this article? Join thousands of tennis fans who follow The "Sixth Set" Blog. Receive updates right in your inbox!

Related posts: